17.09.2021

The latest edition of the webinar series 'CISC Steel Exchange', 'An optimized parametric design using STEEL!', organized by Canadian Institute of Steel Construction (CISC) will take place on September 22nd. During this webinar, Anurag Bhattacharya, architect at ZJA, will shed light on the design process that went into the making of the Lightrail station at The Hague (HSE). Join the Webinar at wednesday September 22, 2021 at 1:00 PM – 2:00 PM EDT/ 7.00 PM -8.00 PM CEST/ 6.00 PM -7.00 PM BST.

Lightrail station at The Hague (HSE)

The highlight of the station is the roof of the platforms, which consists of curved glass and steel. A covered walkway in the shape of an expressive canopy connects the new column-free lightrailstation with the main hall of The Hague Central Station. Anurag will be talking in-depth about how parametric and computational design methods were employed in the design and fabrication of the spatial roof structure. The digital tools generated and analyzed the structure while providing geometrical and structural optimization. The outcome of this optimization allowed for the use of single-curved and cold bent glass. This allowed a significant reduction in the quantity of materials used in the steel structure.

The construction of the new station was managed by ProRail, commissioned by the municipality of The Hague, with contractor BAM building the new station. Take a look at the website of CISC for more information about the webinar.